VPNs for BBC iPlayer

Got networking / internet / computer/ TV/ Telephone problems in Crete? Ask here.
paul g

VPNs for BBC iPlayer

Postby paul g » Thu Aug 27, 2020 6:37 pm

What VPNs are people having success with in watching BBC iPlayer? I was using ExpressVPN with good results, but it looks like they have given up the fight in the cat and mouse game with the BBC.

mouche

Re: VPNs for BBC iPlayer

Postby mouche » Thu Aug 27, 2020 7:14 pm

NordVPN works for me watching BBC iPlayer.

Tim

Postby Tim » Thu Aug 27, 2020 7:15 pm

Hi Paul
I've had excellent results with PrivateVPN. I think only one or two times have I been denied access to a UK channel in eight months.

Tim

Kilkis

Postby Kilkis » Thu Aug 27, 2020 8:23 pm

I've also got a NordVPN account. I don't use it a lot, because I have a subscription streaming service, but, when I do use it, it works fine for me. It usually gets good reviews in Expert Reviews.

Warwick

Mathitis

Postby Mathitis » Thu Aug 27, 2020 9:45 pm

Paulg - I am with Express VPN and tested access in the light of your post = couldn't access IPlayer like yourself.

When this has happened in the past I have logged in and used Live chat. They are ALWAYS very quick to respond and are super helpful.

Anyway, I made contact just now and was advised they are aware of the problem and their engineers are working on fully resolving the issue and they will email me when it has been fixed.

My contact advised me to suggest to you to also make contact via Live Chat to log your problem and then they can also email you when the problem has been sorted.

In my experience to date, I don't think you need to be changing VPN provider at this point - just my thoughts from experience.

Kilkis

Postby Kilkis » Thu Aug 27, 2020 11:26 pm