Using Data Cards for Internet access

Got networking / internet / computer/ TV/ Telephone problems in Crete? Ask here.
Felicity
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 10:29 am

Using Data Cards for Internet access

Postby Felicity » Thu Jun 21, 2007 9:51 am

Hi there,

I'm wondering if anyone has had any experience of using data cards to access the internet via mobile phone networks in Crete. I am in the unfortunate position of having no landline at my house and no outlook for when one will be available. My plans to extend my stays in Crete by working from there have been scuppered and I'm now looking at the alternatives.

Vodafone do a 3g data card on a contract or pay as you go but I'm not sure what the performance would be like and the costs. Does anyone use this on the Greek Vodafone network? or anything else?

Also, could anyone tell me how I can monitor how much data I upload and download on my computer? This will help me to estimate what my usage would be and which type of contract I should be looking at.

Lastly, any suggestions on alternatives? Internet cafe's would be an emergency option only.

Thanks in advance.
Felicity

paulh
Posts: 2435
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:13 pm
Location: Akrotiri

Postby paulh » Thu Jun 21, 2007 10:47 am

ok the bad news first, it might be a 3G card but it will only run at 3G (386) speeds in the major conurbations otherwise it runs at 56.6 or somewhat less. That is to say, slow dial up speeds.

I know 2 people who I believe have used the vodaphone card because of being in the same situation, no landline but they only use it for email receipt and distribution. I could possibly get them to talk to you about their problems with this method but you will have to PM me with your contact details so I can pass it on (do not post them on the open board).

I believe your vodaphone card would keep a visible record of connect times and possibly translate that to cost. But of course that is after the contract and doesn't help decide which contract.

I think you don't have an easy answer here and maybe there is a case for considering Internet cafe for 3 hours in the morning 5 days a week. Maybe you could agree a special rate. At least you would know your costs and in most cafes they allow you to work on your own laptop.

Not an easy situation to give a good answer unless money is no object (ie the company at the other end picking up the bills)

paul

Stein
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 12:14 am

Re: Using Data Cards for Internet access

Postby Stein » Fri Jul 27, 2007 12:31 am

3G works !
I installed a 3G Linksys wifi router,

http://www.linksys.com/servlet/Satellite?c=L_
Product_C2&childpagename=US%2FLayout&cid=1160093298732&pagename=Linksys%2FCommon%2FVisitorWrapper&lid=9873239789B01

i had to chop the URL above because it was pushing the page width too far.....paul

http://www.expansys.com/p.aspx?i=129557

Inserted a datacard from Wind
PCMCIA Card Huawei E620

http://www.wind.com.gr/pages.fds?langID=2&pageid=1237

with flat rate 99 euro / month, wind DC nonstop

http://www.wind.com.gr/pages.fds?langID=2&pageid=1221

, and got 431 kbit/s in Almyrida.

Wind are talking about HSDPA with speeds up to 1.8 Mbit/s, but i did not get any HSDPA connection.

You could of course put the PCMCIA card directly into a laptop, but i experienced very different speeds, moving the pc.

Good luck

Stein

PS
my first post here :-)

paulh
Posts: 2435
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:13 pm
Location: Akrotiri

Postby paulh » Fri Jul 27, 2007 8:04 am

Thanks Stein thats good information that could be of interest to quite a few people.

I have only looked at your post quickly but I dont remember seeing a cost for the data card itself (or does it come free with say the unlimited annual contract).

Not a cheap solution and only half the speed of copper adsl but way way better than dial up (at least 10x faster than dial up users generally get on Apokronos) and I like the idea of the card being in the router which can be in the best reception position and (with the addition of a 40 euro USB wireless dongle) available to desktop users who don't have a pcmcia slot in their machines.

Was the kit involved bought in Greece? (I'm thinking of the linksys router which I have not seen advertised here)

As I said, slightly more expensive to set up but then ideal if you do not have a telephone line, or you rent and don't want to put a permanent connection then move away from it.

Stein
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 12:14 am

Postby Stein » Fri Jul 27, 2007 8:26 am

Hello Paulh

The card was included for free with a 12 month subscription, could not get shorter subscriptions.
You must have the PCMCIA card, not the PC-express.

The router is the same that Vodafon is using in their 3g broadbrand offer.
Mine is a Vodafon branded unit. I bought mine in Norway.

I found the router at:
http://www.dsl-warehouse.co.uk/product.asp?pr=WRT54G3G
I have never bought anything from this company myself.

I will try to connect yag antenna in october, to test if it is possible to get HSDPA.

The Wind shop in Rethymno had the datacard in stock, had to wait for 2-3 hours to get approved as customer.
Had to bring signed and stamped copy of my taxnumber document and my passport.

Good luck

Stein

filippos
Posts: 5833
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: Kalyves
Contact:

Postby filippos » Fri Jul 27, 2007 6:58 pm

Stein,

Do you know about "tinyURL"?

The link you posted (that Paul has split) had 160 characters which forced me to go to full page width and I still had to scroll L/R. Using tinyURL reduces it to 25 characters. This is it: http://tinyurl.com/2nav4u.

It's free, very quick and easy to use from a button on your links toolbar and saves those long links. The website is http://www.tinyURL.com and there are easy to follow instructions.

On occasions it can also save a lot of (in my case error-prone) typing.

Filippos.

lshall05
Posts: 798
Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 12:13 am
Location: Malia

Postby lshall05 » Fri Jul 27, 2007 7:23 pm

Thanks for that Filippos - you learn something new every day! I did wonder why there were so many tinyURL links on the various forums!
Living in Crete!!

paulh
Posts: 2435
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:13 pm
Location: Akrotiri

Postby paulh » Fri Jul 27, 2007 7:30 pm

Filippos....you could of course get yourself a 26 inch wide screen monitor

(I suspect thats me in the dog house for another six months)

Jean
Posts: 1118
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:39 pm
Location: West Crete
Contact:

Postby Jean » Fri Jul 27, 2007 7:35 pm

Why only 26" You'd live to regret not going for a 30".

Dell has a pretty affordable model - see http://accessories.euro.dell.com/sna/pr ... &sku=88765 (sorry about the long URL)

paulh
Posts: 2435
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:13 pm
Location: Akrotiri

Postby paulh » Fri Jul 27, 2007 7:43 pm

Ohhhh dear Jean you are going to get us both into a lot of trouble given we are now repeat offenders. The first time we might have got away with it saying we did not realise

By the way your URL only works if you are a premier customer

Jean
Posts: 1118
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:39 pm
Location: West Crete
Contact:

Postby Jean » Fri Jul 27, 2007 8:00 pm

By the way your URL only works if you are a premier customer


So I am a premier customer? That makes me feel a lot better.
And this is another good reason for filipos to buy a 30" Dell monitor. He'll be a premier customer as well :-)

Stein
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 12:14 am

Postby Stein » Fri Jul 27, 2007 10:51 pm

Filippos
Yes i have used tinyurl and similar services.
If i have to use this kind of services i prefer http://notlong.com/.

Personal i prefer to receive real links, even if they are long and wrapped, and i have to paste them in notepad to straighten them.

This way i know what i open.

If it is forum policy to use short url's, i can adapt. ;-)

Stein

http://shorturl-security.notlong.com

filippos
Posts: 5833
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: Kalyves
Contact:

Postby filippos » Fri Jul 27, 2007 11:59 pm

Hi Stein,

I don't think it's forum policy and, in any case, that's nothing to do with me. TinyURL do give the choice of the short URL as I posted or one that gives a preview so that you know where the link leads to.

I just don't like left/right scrolling. I'll take a look at the service you suggested, too.

Filippos.

paulh
Posts: 2435
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:13 pm
Location: Akrotiri

Postby paulh » Sat Jul 28, 2007 1:43 am

I can confirm there is no policy regarding short or long URL's and the only reason it was mentioned was because it was so long and because the software regards it as one word and does not wrap it.

Thus it caused a widening of the page. This might happen for one in every thousand URL's posted so it is not a problem to edit in a space.

Small short or Tiny URL's have one advantage if for some reason they have to be typed then it can be done quite easily. Not so with the long ones.

They have one disadvantage. You cannot see where you are redirecting to and a malicious poster could give a Tiny URL supposedly pointing to something of interest to Crete but in fact it points to a "problem" site be it porn or one containing malicious code.

Post whichever way you like folks. If we get problems then we will do something about it but until then why have rules for the sake of it.

filippos
Posts: 5833
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: Kalyves
Contact:

Postby filippos » Sat Jul 28, 2007 8:34 am

paulh wrote:They have one disadvantage. You cannot see where you are redirecting to and a malicious poster could give a Tiny URL supposedly pointing to something of interest to Crete but in fact it points to a "problem" site be it porn or one containing malicious code.


TinyURL give the chance to post a "preview" link like this one

http://preview.tinyurl.com/ld9ft

It's just as quick/easy to set up but would-be viewers need two clicks not one.

Filippos.


Return to “ Computers, TV, Telephone and Internet”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests