Work out of season in Chania area

General information or questions about working in Crete.
CathF

Work out of season in Chania area

Postby CathF » Mon Jun 09, 2008 10:00 pm

Hi,

My partner and I are looking at moving out to Crete, maybe Chania. We were wondering what is job availability like out of season? I currently work in Marketing, any ideas where to look for jobs in this area? And are language barriers a problem?

I hope you can help, I also wondered how anyone else finds living in Chania out of season?

Thanks

Cath

andheath

Postby andheath » Tue Jun 10, 2008 12:30 am

Cath

I am sure you are a nice person but please do a little research. jobs out of season are nil. None existant. It is not going to happen for you. And yes the language barrier is a huge problem because surprise, surprise, most people in Greece speak Greek and if you don't you won't be able to talk to anybody.
Now marketing is not my subject but I can have a guess that it is difficult to market anything to anybody you can not communicate to.

I am not going out of my way to be rude (it comes naturally) but there is a mountain of chat on this and other forums about the difficulties of living here if you need an income.

You do yourself no favors joining a forum and asking such silly questions. Use your marketing experience and do a little homework before making a fool of yourself.

Andy (in a bad mood)
This Cretan Adventure thing is way beyond a joke.

latsida

Postby latsida » Tue Jun 10, 2008 9:46 am

Dear Andheath-This is not like you?you had a whole section devoted to your move here and received much help and advice and encouragement..Surely by asking her question Cath is trying to do some research?We live at the other end of the island but I do know a few people with full time jobs though these are mainly bar jobs, real estate and in the building industry or their own businesses.
Latsida(in a good mood)

CathF

Postby CathF » Tue Jun 10, 2008 9:54 am

Thanks Latsida for your reply.