changing electricity supplier

For discussion, news, comments, questions and information about Crete & Greece.
grannyM

changing electricity supplier

Postby grannyM » Tue Oct 20, 2020 11:25 am

We have been with DEI for years but have recently been approached by HRON and Elleniki Petpeliea with inducements to move to them.I'm sure there are others.
Has anyone experience of the benefits and disadvantages of so doing, and advice to give?

moved 2 crete

Re: changing electricity supplier

Postby moved 2 crete » Tue Oct 20, 2020 11:38 am

We changed to Protergia a few years ago it was cheaper and still is. :D
Dave H

Kilkis

Postby Kilkis » Tue Oct 20, 2020 11:46 am

I've no experience of switching but three things worth noting:

1 The discounts only apply to the charge for the electricity consumed and, in some cases, the fixed charge. They do not apply to all the other electricity charges. For example, if you look at the second page of this sample bill the discount normally only applies to the €133.71 at the top of the bill not any of the other charges further down.
    2 If you pay ΔΕΗ on time every time you get a 15 % discount on the same electricity charges anyway, i.e. on the €133.71.
    3 If, like me, you have cheap rate electricity at night the rate for that is often the same with the discount service as it is with ΔΕΗ so the discount only applies to the electricity consumed during the day. This may vary from discounter to discounter but it is important to check if you have a dual meter

Take those factors into account when assessing how much the new deals will save you not just the headline discount quoted.

Warwick

THASSIAN

Postby THASSIAN » Tue Oct 20, 2020 3:06 pm

The ΔEH discount is now 5% not 15% for the record.

toastie

Postby toastie » Tue Oct 20, 2020 4:06 pm

my supplier is Elpedison. very good service. great online account management and help system. very quick transfer from DEI and better programs.

https://www.elpedison.gr/en/

Kilkis