Car Prices

For discussion, news, comments, questions and information about Crete & Greece.
Muttly

Car Prices

Postby Muttly » Wed Aug 29, 2007 7:17 pm

Everyone has been very helpful in giving me prices and costings and we have been busy contructing basic budgets and have got some intial prices for houses etc. However it is obvious I will not not be importing and vehicles into Greece.

So the subject of a car now looms. For personal reasons we must have a car, public transport is out for me. I gather Toyota is pretty well one of the top marques in Crete. However Toyota is one make I have no experience with (in fact all Japanese cars) so can anyone suggest and would anyone know the cost of a Toyota or similar (estate?) that will take two big dogs but no more than 1600cc petrol. I am asking based on YOUR experience of buying and running such a vehicle.

I'm not really interested in something new or even nearly new. You talk of cars holding their prices so I suppose up to 10 years old will do until we get fully established. If you take it we would leave on the East end of the island and the villages there then it would have to cope with those general roads etc.

Take it that I qualify for all the residency qualifications, permits, tax number etc and I presenting myself to a dealer or second hand dealer with all the appropriate paperwork waiting to exchange cash whatever and drive it away.

Thanks in anticipation for your help.

filippos

Re: Car Prices

Postby filippos » Wed Aug 29, 2007 8:40 pm

Muttly wrote: presenting myself to a dealer or second hand dealer with all the appropriate paperwork waiting to exchange cash whatever and drive it away.