driving licence

For discussion, news, comments, questions and information about Crete & Greece.
alicat

driving licence

Postby alicat » Fri Sep 07, 2007 9:17 pm

Hi everyone,

does anyone know if British people can take the motorcycle/car driving licence test in Greece? My boyfriend is thinking whether to do it in the UK now or do it Greece once we are there. He is also thinking of doing the theory test here in England and the practice test there if possible. Any advice on the matter is much appreciated,

Best wishes,
Alex

Muttly

Postby Muttly » Fri Sep 07, 2007 9:25 pm

Hi,

I've got a UK Motor Cycle Licence which was done under the modern testing regieme. Can I suggest that whatever you boyfreind does he takes a test/course in the UK.

The reason is that I was a Advanced Car Driver with no Motor Cycle experience at all. You think your good at driving cars until you take the M/C Test. They have you looking in places most car drivers would never think of.

They are really teaching you survival on the road not just how to gat from a to b. With tales of the driving habits of the Greek nation I would train here and just exchange your licence over there.

filippos

Postby filippos » Fri Sep 07, 2007 11:02 pm

Getting a licence in Greece can be tough. You have to attend classes for a minimum of about 20 hours for the theory test, if I remember correctly and you're only allowed about 2 or 3 wrong answers otherwise you fail and have to take yet more lessons. You also have to have a minimum number of hours of practical lessons, too.

The Greek authorities will not accept the English theory test. The rules of the road here are different. Just one simple example is traffic lights. Firstly they're just red and green but you can also have flashing amber arrows pointing left or right. What does that mean? There's one junction I pass through regularly where on one approach road I've never seen either green or red and no arrows either, just flashing amber lights.