Digital TV in Crete 26 June

Got networking / internet / computer/ TV/ Telephone problems in Crete? Ask here.
Carolina
Site Admin
Posts: 3179
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: Chania, Crete
Contact:

Digital TV in Crete 26 June

Postby Carolina » Mon Jun 10, 2013 7:12 pm

Digital TV is coming to Crete in a couple of weeks time.

From 02.00hrs in the morning of 26 June Digital TV will be in the Heraklion, Rethymnon & Chania areas. The Analogue signal will be turned off for those within the scope. Other parts of Crete will not be covered by digital yet.

See http://www.digea.gr/digea/gr
for more info and the new frequencies

click on the links at the bottom of that page for maps with coverage.

johnincrete
Posts: 862
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2010 4:04 pm
Location: Chania

Postby johnincrete » Tue Jun 11, 2013 6:21 am

I am totally confused! Does this mean that my analogue TV will no longer work?
I've seen so much conflicting advice - even the TV salesman said not to buy a digital TV. I cannot believe that, in a time of great financial difficulty, people would need to buy new TV's just to get the same as they already have.

Kilkis
Posts: 11090
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 3:58 pm
Location: Near Chania

Postby Kilkis » Tue Jun 11, 2013 7:21 am

You won't be able to receive the six channels listed in the article. You should still receive the other channels. You don't necessarily need a new TV. You can get a set top box for around €20 to €30.

Warwick

bobscott
Posts: 2554
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 5:36 pm
Location: Kokkino Horio

Postby bobscott » Tue Jun 11, 2013 9:14 am

Kilkis wrote:You won't be able to receive the six channels listed in the article. You should still receive the other channels. You don't necessarily need a new TV. You can get a set top box for around €20 to €30.

Warwick


So who sells those then Warwick? Kotsovolos in Chania?
Yesterday today was tomorrow. Don't dilly dally!

SatCure
Posts: 1945
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2007 9:57 pm
Location: Apokoronas

Postby SatCure » Tue Jun 11, 2013 9:18 am

The main electrical retailers probably stock them.

I've put additional info. here:
http://www.satcure.co.uk/tech/Digital_TV_Crete.htm

Kilkis
Posts: 11090
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 3:58 pm
Location: Near Chania

Postby Kilkis » Tue Jun 11, 2013 10:46 am

bobscott wrote:...So who sells those then Warwick? Kotsovolos in Chania?


I would guess any shop selling TVs. You could also try www.e-shop.gr Just put set top box in the search box. You can order on line and pick up from the shop in Chania. Although most pages are in Greek the order page is available in English. You can opt to pay cash when you pick up so no need to give card details.

Warwick

altohb
Posts: 928
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 2:51 pm
Location: Sitia

Postby altohb » Tue Jun 11, 2013 11:08 am

I'm being a bit dense here, but if we have a satellite service (Nova) which picks up the Greek channels do we also need a decoder? I know we are outside the area of this new service at the moment, but just looking ahead.

jet
Posts: 355
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 11:06 pm

Postby jet » Tue Jun 11, 2013 1:37 pm

For those who have MPEG-4 need to make a new channel search, you can try today, as French channel 5 already broadcasting digitally!

Carolina
Site Admin
Posts: 3179
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: Chania, Crete
Contact:

Postby Carolina » Tue Jun 11, 2013 1:56 pm

bobscott wrote:
Kilkis wrote: You can get a set top box for around €20 to €30.

Warwick


So who sells those then Warwick? Kotsovolos in Chania?


They seem to be selling them everywhere, our local hardware store even has them.

Kilkis
Posts: 11090
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 3:58 pm
Location: Near Chania

Postby Kilkis » Tue Jun 11, 2013 3:19 pm

It is perhaps worth noting that some models act as a recorder as well. Probably cost a bit more but not a huge amount.

Warwick

Carolina
Site Admin
Posts: 3179
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: Chania, Crete
Contact:

Postby Carolina » Tue Jun 11, 2013 3:34 pm

altohb wrote:I'm being a bit dense here, but if we have a satellite service (Nova) which picks up the Greek channels do we also need a decoder? I know we are outside the area of this new service at the moment, but just looking ahead.


No, you won't need a decoder if you have Nova or OTE Connex TV, you already have the Greek TV channels via the digital box.

altohb
Posts: 928
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 2:51 pm
Location: Sitia

Postby altohb » Tue Jun 11, 2013 4:12 pm

Thanks for that - one less expense!

johnincrete
Posts: 862
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2010 4:04 pm
Location: Chania

Postby johnincrete » Tue Jun 11, 2013 4:59 pm

Oh dear! My technophobia is running rampant.
Is an antenna the same as an aerial? i.e. the thing that's on the roof?
Which way is it likely to be pointing? How do you know which way to point it now?
As I am in an orange zone, what is an amplifier? How does it fit with the new cable to the set-top box?

Is there someone who would just come and do the job for me?

Kilkis
Posts: 11090
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 3:58 pm
Location: Near Chania

Postby Kilkis » Tue Jun 11, 2013 5:25 pm

Yes. Antenna and ariel are the same thing. At the moment you probably have an ariel and a pre-amplifier up on the roof. Behind the TV a cable goes from a socket on the wall to a box that acts as a power supply for the pre-amplifier. Another cable goes from this box to the socket on theTV. When you get the set top box disconnect this cable from the TV and plug it into the set top box. Plug another cable from the set top box to the TV. Not sure what this last cable will be. Possibly SCART? You shouldn't need to change the direction of the ariel. It is the same transmitter.

Warwick

Tim
Posts: 501
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 1:41 pm
Location: Near Sitia
Contact:

Postby Tim » Tue Jun 11, 2013 8:56 pm

Hi Carol

Any idea when digital technology is likely to arrive down at the uncivilised end of the island? :wink:

Tim


Return to “ Computers, TV, Telephone and Internet”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest